How To Be Both Emotional And Logical

Is logical the opposite of emotional? Is there a logic to our emotions?

My bio professor described himself and his wife as very logical (read: not emotional, smart, superior, what have you) in the context of a discussion about vaccines, and the general public’s skepticism of objective, peer-reviewed science.

My mind drifted briefly, ask I asked myself, how would I describe my way of thinking and being? Logical? NOOO. emotional. I am emotional. Doesn’t mean I don’t think logically. But I often base decisions off of my emotional wave (thanks to the guidance of Human Design).

Emotions are not just played out in my mind. They are also played out in my body. Stress, excitement, sadness, happiness, uncertainty. All those emotions have physiological manifestations (butterflies, back pain, cloudy-headedness, etc).

Emotions are not just thoughts, constructed by the ego and then dissipated. Sometimes my body knows how I feel about something before my mind does.

So, is there a logic to my (our) emotions? I don’t think logical is the opposite of emotional. I think you can be both emotional and logical. And I don’t think there is anything wrong with being in tune with our emotions. Where we can get in trouble is when we are really out of touch.

Having emotions, and using them to inform our actions, doesn’t mean we have to be reactive, and emotional in our responses. A piece of information can cause me fear. I can notice that fear, and look deeper. And maybe, I will find that the information that I thought was scary, is actually not scary (or not true!).

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I mentioned Human Design. It is a tool for living as the individual that you (we all) are. For self-knowing. I won’t get into it further now, but if you want to know more, see below.

Get a free, basic human design reading here: (if you’re into it and want more, message me. I know someone who does individual, in-depth readings by phone or in person).

http://www.jovianarchive.com

What are your thoughts?

